Here comes the fair!

One of the tabletops at the Twin City Bridal Association’s Wedding Fair– I loved the combination of brown bottles with classy crystal and gold silverware.

It’s been a couple of weeks since I’ve updated the Catersource Carvings blog– and I’ve been itching to get back here! The past couple of weeks were filled with putting the finishing touches on our March/April Outdoors issue, which will arrive in your mailbox the week of April 6. Some fun additional content from that issue will be up on Catersource.com over the course of the next couple of weeks, but for the moment, I’m getting started on our next issue: Weddings!

To prepare for the May/June Weddings issue, on Sunday I went to the Twin Cities Bridal Association’s Wedding Fair at the Minneapolis Convention Center. I’ve gotta admit, I’ve already been in a Wedding State of Mind this year– I’m flying to at least three different states over the course of the year to witness friends and family tie the knot — so I’m anxious to see how the materials for the May/June issue will materialize in their ceremonies and receptions. In the meantime, it was a blast browsing the fair and seeing what’s offered locally. This fair occurs three times a year, ready for new brides within a couple of months of the moment they begin planning.


“I Gotta Feeling” is this generation’s “Shout!” It’s been played at every wedding I’ve been to in the past year, and I’m almost positive I’ll hear it at almost every wedding I attend for the rest of my life.

This was the kind of Wedding Fair that seemed to have one of everything, no matter what the bride’s tastes were. Photo booths, djs, bachelorette ideas, stunning dresses, makeup, venues, and (of course!) caterers dotted the floor, offering samples and chatting with potential customers. I saw some fantastic tabletops and magnificent florals — my favorite idea was an individual Citron vodka and tonic on each place setting for a very on-trend lemon-and-grey table. I also saw quite a few designer sodas dotting the tabletops, and I’m hoping that this trend doesn’t die down any time soon; sweet, fruity and carbonated is the way to this editor’s heart.

I was a little taken aback that there weren’t more caterers and was pretty curious: Do you participate in local wedding fairs? If so, do you book a lot of business through them? Is it something you’ve tried in the past? Is it something that you’d like to do again?

And, in general, how are your relationships with professional organizations like local wedding associations? Have they been beneficial for you? I’d love to see some of your thoughts in the comments.

Leave a Reply

